Sweetness and Light at the McLunt Smallholding

Rural life inspired by faith

I have had very exciting times. But you’ll have to wait to hear about them later in the diary!

‘Fungi and Flowers’ by Mummy

To start with, the month was just boring old rain, getting wet but no swimming in the river or burns because there was too much water. Mummy spent lots of time taking pictures of fungus-y things, and Papa just grumbled about the weather. We took a trip to Girvan but the wind was so strong I had to hide behind walls to avoid it. Not my best walk.

The second week was still boring! Mummy and Papa worked in the cabin, taking stuff apart and putting it back together [and painting funny colours], taking up the floor coverings and putting new ones down. THIS I OBJECT TO. The old carpets and rugs carried the smells/scents of all my friends who have visited us, plus [even] Purdy cat. Don’t humans understand my nose is my link to the world?

Papa needed to repair the pipework going into the septic tank. The smells from this more than made up for removing the old rugs and lino from the cabin!

Anyway, whilst my people were busy working in the cabin I supervised from outside. That’s because Mummy kept saying, ‘sit down Kelpie, but NOT there. Don’t lick that Kelpie.’ And so on. But their work is all for a good reason, they say: The visitors are coming! First it will be friends of Mummy, who I have met before I think, then BEST FRIEND POPPY with her people [who will be bringing my birthday present].

Just to help the week go by, we made a trip to see the cafe Aunties, and ate lovely cake.

I think I forgot to tell you; a couple of weeks ago we had to deliver a letter to every house in the village. This was my party invite. It will be my 100th birthday [and Mummy’s 60th] and we will have a party in the hall. Mummy can’t have presents, BUT I CAN. There will be lots of food, especially hogmeat [?]

Anyway, along came Mummy’s [Mother’s] Day. That is when I give my human Mummy something nice. This year I gave her some liquid pain medicine called ‘brandy.’ I would really like to give my doggie Mummy something, but she was from Cornwall and I don’t see her anymore. I do think about her when I see puppies on the TV.

A special letter came for Mummy. It says she is now Councillor Mummy. She doesn’t look or smell any different. Then my people went to a meeting about the shop [where I have cake with the cafe Aunties]. Papa came home with a new job, helping to look after the shop. Perhaps I’ll get extra cake when we go.

Uncle Andy came to do some work in the cabin but he didn’t bring friend Heidi with him, nor annoying doggie Biscuit. He didn’t stay very long because it was raining and there was a leak in roof (of the cabin – PAPA FIXED IT).

Mummy was getting excited – and a bit grumpy – because my birthday party was soon and she had LOTS to do to get ready for it. I should remind you Mummy has her birthday around the same time this year, and she is sharing my party. To help get everything ready Auntie Ruth and Uncle Mike are coming. They are very good at stuff! And Auntie Ruth always brings me treats, it doesn’t even have to be my birthday!

I have to tell you about a near miss I had the day before the party. Mummy and Papa were acting suspiciously, looking at me and talking quietly. Papa went to the cabin and came back. Then Mummy went to the cabin … then Papa followed her and called me. I was just about to follow but I spotted a JUG in his hand. Oh no! I was going to have a bath. Oh no I wasn’t!!

I ran up the hill to the green room but went so fast I collapsed on the ground – I couldn’t run anymore. Mummy saw me fall over. My people didn’t know if I was acting…but HOORAY no bath. We went to the shop to get some special powder shampoo instead, and I had my favourite walk by the golf course with lots of roly-roly. When we got home they decided not to use the powder shampoo but just give me a little brushing. I got to go to my party smelling like ME. A good day!

My special walk to celebrate getting out of having a bath. Mummy raked all the sand after I finished.

The day of the party! Everyone went to the hall EXCEPT ME! I thought there was something special being done for me so I didn’t fuss. Then my people came back to collect me!!! We parked across the road from the Hall and I went in to be greeted by all my friends. Almost no-one there! But a lovely smell of roast pork. Then all my friends started to arrive [just human friends, no doggie friends were allowed].

Auntie Ruth stayed with me in the hall so Mummy and Papa could ‘circulate.’ We found a nice place under a table where I could say Hi to my friends and be fed titbits. Mummy was on the stage saying something – what a good boy I am, I think – then everybody ate lots of food, played silly games, then they all sang ‘Happy Birthday.’ It was a lovely day. For me AND FOR MY LOVELY MUMMY WHOSE BIRTHDAY IT REALLY WAS. Or, at least it was but on the next day….

There are lots of cards around the cottage with ‘60’ on them. Mummy has lots of friends! And lots of cards for me too, with a very special one made by best friends Holly and Hazel. Papa is going to make it into a picture for me!  I got loads of doggy treat and a sheep plushy and a doughnut plushy for my birthday but I am not allowed to eat them (the treats, not the plushies) all in one go.           

                                                 

                                                                 

On Mummy’s real birthday she had presents to open, Auntie Ruth and Uncle Mike called by on their way back home, and then friends of Mummy came to stay in the cabin! They were Uncle Ted and Auntie Mindy, and their pups Morgan and Cyrus. Ted and Mindy are friends of Mummy’s from the US, they moved to the UK at the same time as Mummy. They got Morgan and Cyrus after they came to the UK. They visited us when we lived in Devon. They like me a lot, so I took them on my morning walk in Mummy woods. Then they went to see Butterbur and Vetchling, the goats, then to see the cafe Aunties, then they were off to Iona [where I have been].

I have to mention there was some excitement when Ted and Mindy first arrived and Mummy was explaining where the bats lived in the cabin – then Cyrus and Morgan spotted an actual a bat clinging to the outside wall! We took videos of it and watched it for a while. Morgan kept an eye on it til bedtime. In the morning it was still on the outside wall but in a different place. Mummy used a tissue to touch it and it moved! Phew. Bats don’t usually sleep outside in the day time, so we knew this one needed some help.

Mummy rang Uncle Vet Hamish who said it needed to go to the Wildlife Rescue Centre – in Beith. Mummy rang the wildlife centre and they said we could bring the bat ourselves. We asked Mindy and Ted if they could drop it off on their way to Iona and they said yes. YAY!

Bat on a warm wooden wall

Mummy put on gloves and a face mask to keep the bat and herself safe, then put it in a box with a brand new dish rag and a bottle cap of water. Then, after we had finished our cow visit and tea and cake, Morgan made a special place to keep the bat box safe in the car and Uncle Ted drove them all to the wild animal rescue centre. Mummy was told the staff would treat bat and if it recovered, they would bring it all the way back to the cabin and release it there. Well done sharp-eyed, caring humans! [If you find a bat in a weird place look up ‘bat conservation trust’ – that’s what Mummy did. You will find out what you need to do there.

Papa has asked me to write that Chiff-Chaff are singing all around. He likes them, and they remind him of friend Dave who died a few years ago. Dave hated Chiff-Chaffs and always complained that they made too much noise!

We had a walk to the river By Auntie Sarah’s. We saw the first baby lambs of the year. Very nice!

After all the busy, busy, busy goings on, it was just me and Papa and Mummy again. Papa said we would have a day out – Mummy would drive so we could go where she chose. We went to the Anchorage at Dunure. A good  choice. A VERY good choice, they now have a special doggie menu: I chose sausage and mash. Lovely!

Finally, it’s just been Easter. We had a walk near Uncle Rob’s and lots of people came out of the next house (and the camper van that was parked there). I must find out their names. There are three dogs that stay in that house and they bark like mad things when I go by. Their Mummy knows I walk extra slow, stop for wees and smells when I pass, just to wind up the dogs. She thinks its very funny. She wanted all of her visitors to see me and they did. And we all had lots of kisses! I liked them lots. I will stop by again.

HOORAY! It’s definitely spring: Mummy has seen a newt in the pond. And in the woods!

2 thoughts on “Kelpie Diaries 2024: Still going strong!

  1. Susan Parker says:

    hi Beth and Phil

    I have a new email address which is 35sueparker@gmail.com

    for future blogs. Thank you and happy birthday Beth.

    Like

    1. I will make a note of the address. Xo. Taunton is a lovely place. My eldest lives in Tiverton; we used to volunteer together at the rspca centre near Taunton.

      Like

Leave a comment